Occupational Therapy Board of Australia

Planned Maintenance Our banking partner will perform essential maintenance between 10:00pm and 11:30pm on 11/02/2016 (Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT)). AHPRA's online services will be unavailable during this time. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Occupational Therapy Board of Australia

Occupational Therapy Board members

Julie Brayshaw.

Ms Julie Brayshaw

Presiding member and practitioner member from Western Australia

  • B.App.Sc.(Occ Therapy)., M.Sc.(Occ Therapy).

Ms Julie Brayshaw is an academic staff member at the Curtin University School of Occupational Therapy and Social Work in Western Australia. Ms Brayshaw has been a member of the Occupational Therapy Board of Australia since July 2011.

Ms Brayshaw has worked for more than 25 years as an occupational therapist in the health and disability sectors in rural and remote, overseas (UK and Canada) and metropolitan settings including the Pilbara region of north Western Australia and in Perth tertiary teaching hospitals. Previously, she held the position as Deputy Head of Department (Occupational Therapy) at Royal Perth Hospital.

Ms Brayshaw has a Bachelor of Applied Science Occupational Therapy from Curtin University, and a Master of Science Occupational Therapy (Hand and Upper Limb Rehabilitation).

James Carmichael.

Mr James Carmichael

Practitioner member from Queensland

  • BOcc.Thy., GradDipOHS., MHlthSc.

Mr James Carmichael is Director of the Occupational Health and Safety Division at The University of Queensland. He oversees the university workers' compensation self-insurance system, and prior to this he was a Senior Director with the Queensland WHS regulator.

Mr Carmichael graduated from The University of Queensland in 1987 and has postgraduate qualifications in OHS and health science. He has occupational therapy experience in industrial rehabilitation, ergonomics, risk management and OHS.

Mr Carmichael has been a member and Chair of the Occupational Therapists Board of Queensland, he has been the President of the Ergonomics Society of Australia, and he has been both a member and the Chair of the Occupational Therapy Council. Mr Carmichael has been a member of the National Board since 2011.

Louise Johnson.

Mrs Louise Johnson

Community member

  • BSc (Hons), Dip. Ed., Grad. Dip. Management., Masters Reg. Studies., MAICD

Mrs Louise Johnson is the Chief Executive Officer for the Victorian Assisted Reproductive Treatment Authority (previously the Infertility Treatment Authority), and has over 20 years’ management experience in the health sector, including seven years as Executive Officer for Occupational Therapy Australia (Victoria division).

Mrs Johnson has a Bachelor of Science with Honours, Graduate Diploma in Education, Graduate Diploma in Management, Masters in Regulatory Studies through the Monash University Law faculty and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mrs Johnson is a former Chairperson of Women’s Health Victoria and former member of the Embryo Research Licensing Committee of the NHMRC.

Picture of Kate McRae.

Ms Kate MacRae

Practitioner member from Victoria

  • Dip. Occupational Therapy

Ms Kate MacRae is the Chief Allied Health Officer and Acting General Manager for the South East Sector at Monash Health - the largest public health organisation in Victoria. These roles encompass professional governance for all allied health within the organisation and operational responsibility for Dandenong Hospital, Casey Hospital, Kingston Centre, and Cranbourne Integrated Care Centre. The role also has responsibility for the rehabilitation programme and residential aged care within the organisation.

Ms MacRae has worked in private, not-for-profit and recently public health systems. Her clinical expertise has spanned three separate careers commencing in neurology, then changing to psychiatry and vocational rehabilitation for disadvantaged clients, before moving into health management.

Roxane Marcelle.

Ms Roxane Marcelle-Shaw

Community member

  • BSocSc., JD, GDLP.

Ms Roxane Marcelle-Shaw has worked in a variety of statutory regulatory authorities with Commonwealth, State and Territory governments, administering health privacy, information access, human rights, and regulating the health, disability, aged care, community housing and community services sectors.

In these professional roles and through positions on the governing bodies of community legal services and not-for-profit support services, she contributes to the design, good governance and delivery of effective regulatory arrangements aimed at protecting the public interest and safeguarding the rights of service users. Through her experience as a person with a disability and as a health services and occupational therapy user, Ms Marcelle-Shaw brings an important perspective to the board on health issues and service needs.

Ms Marcelle-Shaw holds a Bachelor Degree in Social Science, Juris Doctor, and Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice, and completed International Human Rights Law Summer School at the University of Oxford.

Katherine Moore.

Dr Katherine Moore

Practitioner member from New South Wales
B.App.Sc.(Occ Therapy)., M.App. Sc.(Occ Therapy)., Doctorate in Health Services Management.

Dr Katherine Moore is the Director of Clinical Governance and Risk in the Sydney Local Health District. Dr Moore sits on the NSW Occupational Therapy Council and has been a member of the National Board since July 2011. She has been president of the NSW Occupational Therapy Association, a member of their university accreditation panel, and previously a member of the overseas qualifications assessment committee.

Dr Moore has worked as an occupational therapist in aged care rehabilitation, and has managed occupational therapy departments in acute and subacute settings. She has been a Director of Allied Health, a Community Health Director in the former Sydney South West Area Health Service, and she also has been a surveyor with the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards since 2002.

Louisa Scott.

Ms Louisa Scott

Community member
B.A. (Psychology & English), Grad Dip. (FinPlan), GAICD.

Ms Louisa Scott has been a member of the National Board since July 2011 and is the Chair of the OTBA Finance & Governance Committee. From 1999 to 2005 Ms Scott served on the Occupational Therapists Registration Board of South Australia. She has also served on the Board of Advice for two financial planning businesses.

Ms Scott has a background in management, research, marketing, corporate relations and investor education, with roles working for the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX) and a major South Australian stockbroking firm, Day Cutten Sharebrokers (now Macquarie Private Wealth). It was in her capacity as an Assistant National Manager at ASX that she was nominated for the Telstra Business Woman of the Year Award.

Terina Saunders.

Mrs Terina Saunders

Practitioner member from the Northern Territory

  • B App Sc (OT)

Mrs Terina Saunders has been an occupational therapist based in Darwin for more than 30 years. Since 1991, this has been in private practice as Senior Occupational Therapist. Her roles in the profession have included: Director, Total Health & Rehab and Darwin Branch Manager of IPAR Rehabilitation.

Ms Saunders has been a member of the National Board since July 2011, and prior to the National Scheme she held more than 10 years experience on the Northern Territory Occupational Therapy Board. She was a member of the Occupational Therapy Council from 2007–2011 (formerly COTRB) and was involved in the assessment of overseas trained occupational therapists and accreditation of Australian occupational therapy training programs.

In recognition of her achievements in business, Mrs Saunders was awarded Northern Territory Telstra Business Woman of the year in 1999.

Page reviewed 3/03/2015